Leaders Creating Leaders for Tomorrow

2022 HCOP Pharmacy Fellows announced

Graphic with lamp and 2022 pharmacy fellows text

March 3, 2022

AUBURN, Alabama - Four Harrison School of Pharmacy faculty members are recipients of the school’s Pharmacy Fellowships, Acting Dean Dan Surry announced Friday. The fellowships recognize the accomplishments by outstanding faculty across a variety of areas, including research, teaching, outreach and collegiality.

The 2022 Pharmacy Fellows are Dr. Taylor Steuber (Dr. Lucinda Maine Pharmacy Education Fellow), Dr. Surachat Ngorsuraches (Jack and Lillian Clift Pharmacy Fellows in Research), Dr. Jeanna Sewell (Mahlon G. Turner Pharmacy Fellow in Outreach), and Dr. Angela Calderón (Graduates of the 1980s Pharmacy Fellow).

“Teaching, research, outreach and collegiality are vital to what we do at the Harrison College of Pharmacy and these faculty members are excellent examples of those qualities,” said Surry. “We are thankful to these outstanding faculty members for all they do and appreciate the support of our alumni and friends, allowing us to continue this program and shine a spotlight on the impact these faculty members are making on our students and the community.”

Faculty were nominated by their peers for the fellowships. In all, 22 faculty members were nominated this year. The list of nominees was reviewed by the school’s executive committee, which made recommendations to the dean, who made the final selections. This year’s winners join 14 past winners since 2019.

Graphic with Taylor Steuber head shot
Graphic with Surachat Ngorsuraches head shot

Graphic with Jeanna Sewell head shot
Graphic with Angela Calderon head shot

The Lucinda Maine Pharmacy Education Fellow, awarded to Dr. Steuber, recognizes a faculty member in the Harrison School of Pharmacy who has excelled in the effort to create a powerful and inspiring learning environment that establishes the school as the leading destination for outstanding Doctor of Pharmacy and graduate students.

The Jack and Lillian Clift Pharmacy Fellow in Research, awarded to Dr. Ngorsuraches, recognizes a faculty member in the Harrison School of Pharmacy who has excelled in the effort to engage in cutting-edge research that improves people’s lives, addresses critical societal issues, creates new knowledge and products and generates extramural funding.

The Mahlon G. Turner Pharmacy Fellow in Outreach, awarded to Dr. Sewell, recognizes a faculty member in the Harrison School of Pharmacy who has excelled in the effort to provide world-class pharmaceutical care to patients and develop innovative practice models and partnerships to transform the health care system and improve human health.

The Graduates of the 1980s Pharmacy Fellow, awarded to Dr. Calderón, recognizes a faculty member in the Harrison School of Pharmacy who has excelled in the effort to establish a culture of collegiality and community that empowers faculty and staff to become leaders, achieve professional excellence and attain personal fulfillment.

Each of the 2022 HCOP Pharmacy Fellows will hold the title of their respective fellowships for one year and will receive a monetary award. Each of the Fellows will have opportunities to use their fellowship year to play a leadership role in fostering education, research, outreach, and collegiality within the school.


About the Harrison College of Pharmacy

Auburn University’s Harrison College of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 25 percent of all pharmacy programs in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the College offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. The College's commitment to world-class scholarship and interdisciplinary research speaks to Auburn's overarching Carnegie R1 designation that places Auburn among the top 100 doctoral research universities in the nation. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care

Last Updated: March 03, 2022