The Destination for Pharmacy Education

Harrison College of Pharmacy

Faculty and Staff Directory


Lea Eiland

Associate Department Head
Clinical Professor
Unit: Pharmacy Practice
Meridian, Mississippi

Curriculum Vitae


  • Pharm.D. - University of Texas at Austin, 2001

Lea S. Eiland, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCPPS, FASHP, FPPA is a Clinical Professor and Associate Department Head of Pharmacy Practice with Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy and a Clinical Professor of Pediatrics with the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine, Huntsville Regional Medical Campus.
Dr. Eiland joined the Auburn faculty in August of 2002. She teaches in the areas of Pediatrics, Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, Infectious Disease, and Leadership. She practiced for 10 years at the Huntsville Hospital Women and Children in the general pediatric inpatient setting. From 2012-14, she practiced in the UAB Health Center Huntsville Pediatric Clinic and remains a consultant to this practice. She also has experience in the outpatient sickle cell clinic and pediatric ICU. Her interests include infectious disease and neurology.
Dr. Eiland graduated with her Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Texas at Austin and the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio in 2001. She completed an ASHP-accredited pediatric specialty residency at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center at Amarillo in 2002. In 2004, Dr. Eiland became a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist and in 2015, she became a Board Certified Pediatric Pharmacy Specialist.
In 2022, Dr. Eiland received the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Pediatric Pharmacy SIG Excellence in Teaching in Pediatric Pharmacy Award. She also has received the Pediatric Pharmacy Association Scholarship of Teaching Award twice. Dr. Eiland was recognized as the 2019 Graduate of the 1980’s Pharmacy Fellow from the Harrison School of Pharmacy. She was awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award from the Harrison School of Pharmacy in 2016 and has received the Preceptor of Excellence award four times. She was the recipient of the Harrison School of Pharmacy Hargreaves Faculty Mentor Award in 2005.
Dr. Eiland was honored with the Merck Pharmacist Achievement Award and the Alabama Society of Health-System Pharmacists Pharmacist of the Year Award in 2008. She participated in the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy’s (AACP) Academic Leadership Fellows Program during the 2008-09 year. In May of 2015, she received the Presidential Citation Award from the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group.
In 2009, Dr. Eiland received the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy Leadership Award and The University of Texas College of Pharmacy Distinguished Young Alumnus Award. In 2012, she was awarded Fellow from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, and in 2015, she was recognized as Fellow from the Pediatric Pharmacy Association.
Dr. Eiland is active in several national pharmacy organizations including the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), Pediatric Pharmacy Association (PPA), American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), and American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP). She is currently Director-at-Large on the Executive Committee of the ASHP Section of Pharmacy Educators and PPA SIG Coordinator. Dr. Eiland continues to serve on multiple committees in ASHP, AACP, and PPA.
Dr. Eiland is a past member of the ASHP Board of Directors, past Chair and Director-at-Large of the ASHP Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists Executive Committee, and past Chair of the ASHP Council on Education and Workforce Development. She also is a Past President of the Alabama Society of Health-System Pharmacists. In PPA, she was the Vice President of Membership Services and a member of the PPAG Board of Directors.
Dr. Eiland remains an active speaker and presents her clinical and educational research at national and state pharmacy meetings. She has authored original research articles, review articles, and book chapters related to pediatric pharmacotherapy and the scholarship of teaching and learning. She is an author and Senior Editor of PPA’s textbook, Advanced Pediatric Therapeutics. Dr. Eiland was the Pediatric Section Editor and then Managing Editor of PharmPrep, ASHP’s NAPLEX┬« Review, authored and edited ASHP’s Infectious Disease Pharmacotherapy Self-Assessment, and served as an author and Section Editor of ACCP’s Pediatric Pharmacotherapy 1st edition textbook. Dr. Eiland received an Auburn Author Award in 2016 from the Auburn University Graduate School and Auburn University Libraries for her textbook publications.

Last Updated: April 21, 2022